Features API: Share vs. Unshare a Collection

The Planet Features API provides two endpoints for controlling whether a collection is shared with other users in your organization.

Both endpoints use the same resource:

https://api.planet.com/features/v1/ogc/my/collections/{collectionId}/permission

The difference is the HTTP method used and the action performed.

POST — share a Collection

Endpoint

POST /collections/{collectionId}/permission

Use this endpoint when you want to share a collection with your organization.

 

DELETE — unshare a Collection

Endpoint

DELETE /collections/{collectionId}/permission

Use this endpoint when you want to remove the organization-level sharing permission from a collection.

Important: This endpoint does not delete the collection itself. It only deletes the collection's sharing permissions. The collection remains available to its owner. If a Feature Collection is unshared, any new attempts by other users in the organization it was shared with to reference a Feature ID will fail. However, if a Feature Reference ID was already in use, for example in an active Subscription, the Subscription will continue to work.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.